older is better….for me

To answer a point from a friend who mentioned that two year olds are not reasonable creatures; we actually aren’t planning on adopting a young child now.

Martin would have liked to have an infant. But when you work through the DFCS system you are way more likely to get an older child (like age 7 and above).

This is a huge blessing as far as I’m concerned, because (as I mentioned in a post last week) if I can’t reason with you, we ain’t gonna get along. So if we are looking at a 7 year old (or above) and we can stay away from children with serious brain damage, I mostly like will have a small person that I have some *chance* of reasoning with.

Now I’m not naive enough to think that a 7 year old (or even a 70 year old) is going to always be reasonable, but at least we will have a chance of communicating. I’ve just never been good with infants and toddlers and I know it.

Forgive me if this is a little garbled. I’m supposed to be working but I wanted to get this out of my head so I could move on to the next item on my list for today….

Hope everyone is having a wonderful Monday

Leave a Reply

