my !… how fast the walls go up.

This ever happened to anyone else?

Yesterday, someone that I thought of as a friend revealed (through a random unrelated comment) that they really strongly feel that I’m in desperate need of constant guidance and they see themselves as qualified to administer correction.

Okay, maybe I am flawed, but this person is not my boss, nor is the relationship of long enough duration to withstand the blunt trauma of her words. She reduced me to tears with just one exchange! She wasn’t trying to be cruel, but her mode of expression just ripped right through me. And then, somehow *I* was to blame for being “over sensitive”

I HATE IT when someone pulls that card on me. Yes, I can get worked up sometimes, but just because I’m sensitive doesn’t mean that you haven’t been insensitive. ya know?

I was willing to let it go and just know in my heart that I can’t be comfortable with her for now, but this morning I got an email from her that is prodding me to “explore my issues”

GRRRRRRRRRRRR I’m not happy about this.

I wrote her a note asking her “please let’s not do this” so hopefully she will drop it. But I have this sinking feeling the subject of my “improvement” will come up again. She works in my building and I see her almost everyday.

What I’m worried about is this: is God trying to teach me something through her and I’m missing it because of my defensiveness?

******amendment. She just came up to my office to get mail and we had a talk.  She is proud of me for standing up for myself.  She is not evil, we just have wildly different viewpoints.   I still feel the same way towards her as I did before, but at least civility has been restored. ******

One thought on “my !… how fast the walls go up.

  1. Wow! just what you needed at the office – a strained relationship. I’m terribly glad that you’ve managed to restore civility. I also think that being careful to look past your first reactions to listen out for the voice of God is a wonderfully mature way to deal with relationships! I’m proud of you too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

