I missed the joke….

So I’m sitting here at work and all of a sudden, from the desk behind me comes hysterical laughter.

Three or four of my co-workers are having a grand ole time about….something. Some movie or some story I can’t tell which.

They didn’t intentionally leave me out.  And I know it’s not about me, but I missed the joke (or the story or whatever) and I can’t go back there and ask to be filled in. They are already too far into the hilarity. It would ruin it for them if I interrupted.

Most of the time I’m in on this stuff, but right now I’m not.

Do you ever get the feeling that life is like that? That we have missed the punch line? or the set-up for the joke and we just can’t catch up?

Maybe it’s just the rain, but I’m a bit pensive today.

Leave a Reply

