memorization

okay.  So, on the recommendation of a friend in Texas,  I started reading this book last night (Breaking Free) and one of the first things in it is the statement  “here are the verses you should memorize while you are going through this book”

wow.

I went to Christian school through 10th grade so this is not a total shock to me, but it’s been a while since someone said  “memorize this scripture”

It’s something I’ve been needing to do.  I know this.

That’s not the problem.

The problem is that I’m just NOT good at this sort of thing.  I can memorize a SONG at the drop of a hat. But just memorizing words with no tune is soooo hard for me.

So does anybody know where I can get Isaiah 61 set to music?

The spirit of the Sovereign LORD is on me
because the LORD has anointed me
to preach good news to the poor.
He has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted
to proclaim freedom for the captives
and release from darkness for the prisoners

to proclaim the year of the LORD’s favor
and the day of vengance of our God
to comfort all who mourn

and provide for those who grieve in Zion
to bestow on them a crown of beauty instead of ashes
the oil of gladness instead of mourning
and a garment of praise instead of a spirit of despair.
They will be called oaks of righteousness
a planting of the LORD for the display of His splendor.

They will rebuild the ancient ruins
and restore the places long devastated
they will renew the ruined cities
that have been devastated for generations.

 

 Forgive any errors.  I typed it in myself instead of “copy & paste” as a way to start learning it.

One thought on “memorization

  1. Hey hon, if you get the chance through your library or church or something, watch the video series Beth did on Breaking Free. I went through a women’s study at my church on Breaking Free, and it couldn’t have come at a better time.

    I’m reading her latest book, Jesus the One and Only, right now!

    Martin and I are going to go through “the Patriarchs” first. So right now I’m just reading her book on Breaking Free for an overview. But it’s already helping me see some things differently. After we get done with the Patriarchs Martin says we can do the Breaking Free modules together.

    Like

Leave a Reply

