back in the land of the …upright?

Hello again world.

I’ve been sick for three days. the “lie as still as you possibly can and try not to breathe too much” type of sick.

Upper respiriatory infection. ick.

It hit, conveniently enough, right after the Super Bowl. So I got to see the Giants win and then crawled off to bed.

For the next two days I only got out of bed to pee, get more water, and vote.

Yesterday I drug myself to the doctor and received the usual vindication. “Yes, you are really sick”

Which oddly enough always makes me feel like saying “Thank You! I KNEW it!” like I’ve scored a point on the rest of the world or something. “See? I TOLD you I was sick, but did you believe me? noooooooo”

The problem is alwasy the body temp thing. See “normal people” hover at right around 98.6 all the time. But I’m not normal. (yeah, yeah I know, please don’t take the cheap shot)

When all’s well with me my regular body temp hovers at about 97.4. So if you stick a themometer in my mouth and it goes up to 98.6….actually, that means something’s wrong.

Now, even though this is documented in every medical file, I still ALWAYS feel like I’m fudging somehow when I tell me boss “I’m running a 99 degree temp.” I mean she doesn’t need to know what my normal temp is, so it’s easier just to translate it. But I always feel like I’m lying.

Anyway, If anyone has been wondering where I’ve been, wonder no longer. I’m back. I’m still trying to deposit a lung on my keyboard, but I’m medicated and “safe to work with” so …….

hope everyone else had a much better MonTuesWednesday day than I did.

One thought on “back in the land of the …upright?

Leave a Reply

