Why do people ask a mute questions?

So here I am, at work. If I move, I cough. If I speak, I cough. If I breathe, I cough.

And every yahoo that comes in here wants to get cute with me and ask 20 questions.

someone walks in the door

I smile

They say “Good Morning”

I smile and wave

They intelligently ask “oh, are you sick?”

I shake my head No.

(This, by the way, is where my hubby says I’m making a big mistake. See I think I’m not sick, I just have a lingering cough. He says, no that means you are still sick, just keep it simple. And I’ll admit, it would make it easier if I could bring myself to say I was sick, but I just can’t!)

They then say “so why are you not talking?”

HUH?????

Now let’s think about this. Logically.

Would you ask a deaf person to explain why they aren’t listening to you? Or a person with a cast to tell you why they can’t run today? no, of course not.

So WHY oh WHY does everybody ask the (temporary) mute to explain her mute-ness!!!!???!?!?!?!?!?!?!

I mean come on, it makes no sense. I feel like putting up a sign

PLEASE DON’T ASK ME WHY I CAN’T TALK.
IF I COULD TALK, I WOULDN’T HAVE TO EXPLAIN WHY I’M NOT TALKING, NOW WOULD I????????

The alternative of course is that I could tell them the truth: “No I’m talking to everyone else, just not to YOU, so bug off!”  But that would involve talking, so……

Leave a Reply

