normal names

I swear Lord, if you give me kids they will have normal names. Or at least commonly accepted spellings.

Nothing against all those folks out there who give their kids names with interesting spellings. Really.

But my name is almost never spelled properly. Even by friends.

D E I R D R E

Dee

Eee

Eye

Arrrr

Dee

Arrrr

Eeeeeeee

Everybody gets it wrong. They either leave out the middle R or they reverse the Eee and the Eye and leave me looking like I have a death wish : Dierdre

and don’t even get me started on all the funky pronunciations I get.

It doesn’t anger me, not any more. But I sometimes find myself promising God that I will never inflict an unusual spelling on some poor unsuspecting kid.

2 thoughts on “normal names

  1. Ok, this post made me laugh!! Why? Because I emailed you today and I am PRETTY SURE I misspelled your name!!!!!

    *grin* you did. But that’s okay. I’m glad you stopped by.

    Like

Leave a Reply

