when the plan changes….

***Before you read this, if you were sent here by someone who is angry about this post, try to be as fair and polite to me as you would want me to be if I visited your blog ******

Most people who know me know that I am not real good at adjustments when my plans get changed.

If I go into a situation knowing that it calls for flexibility I can think on the fly and make all kinds of almost gymnastic adjustments to the schedule, the plan, whatever.

BUT. If I had no idea that things could change or go wrong. If I was cruising along with no concept, no inkling of a change in the plan……well. Let’s put it this way: you don’t want to be the one to have to tell me about the alteration in my grand scheme.

It’s unrealistic of me, I know. But aren’t I different? Am I not special? Don’t MY plans and arrangements MEAN something. Isn’t there a rule? um….reality check. NOPE.

So now we are looking to adopt.

children.

eeek.

I’m in T.R.O.U.B.L.E.

I’m pretty much assuming that kids are going to present a source of CONSTANT interruptions (joyful and otherwise) and disruptions of my carefully laid out plans. So look for an improvement in my character in the years to come. I’ll be praying right along with my friend Missy (Missy’s blog today) for God to help me learn to Bless the Interruptions.

and you know what? I can’t wait.  yeah, okay.  I’ll get awakened in the middle of the night about a million times.  So what?  I’ll also get to love and feed and protect and share a life with a child.

So bring it on Lord.   Interrupt me.

Leave a Reply

