proud, happy and thrilled

Pride is a sin, naturally. We are not to be proud in ourselves. Our initial situations and physical characteristics are an accident of birth, so nothing to be proud of.

But I do think that when we put in hard work and accomplish a goal, we should be proud of that.

This past weekend, Martin and I conquered something that we’ve been needing to deal with for over three years.

It was a mess. Unfortunately I didn’t get a photo of the mess. Seriously, Trust me, it was a complete disaster area.

Clearing the mess involved setting up FIVE banquet sized tables for help with the sorting. At one point we had to go the store and buy more storage containers. From beginning to end it took from 11 a.m. to 10 p.m. !!!! That’s a ELEVEN HOUR DAY….on a Saturday !

We had fun in the process though. A chore that I had been dreading for years became a fun time with my hubby. It helps that he loves to organize things just as much as I do.

This is a photo of him sorting through the final two piles of stuff that came out of the pantry. (btw, I detest that light fixture. Anybody want it?)

martin organizing

But here is the finished product after a hard day’s work on Saturday:

pantry

and yes. Every single container is labeled. Now I can figure out what additional items I need at the store just by looking at the levels in each nice clear container. For instance…..right now we are low on cornflakes.

I’m so proud of us.

3 thoughts on “proud, happy and thrilled

  1. Wow, that is an amazing pantry! Nice work! I’d take a picture of mine, but somebody might faint.

    That’s why I waited and took the photo after we were done. I really should have taken a before shot though. Just to give folks an idea of the scope of what we accomplished. 😉

    Like

  2. Hi! I stumbled across your blog while searching adoption. My husband and I are about to embark on the adoption journey and are considering Christian Adoption Consultants. I know that you are just beginning with them but I was hoping that you would give me your opinion of their services. We are so torn between signing with an agency or going with a consultant. Any suggestions would be so appreciated! God bless!

    Lori,
    We have enjoyed the process with a consultant VERY much. CAC has been very organized and efficient. We got through the home-study process in just 2 weeks. We have actually been presented to 5 situations already. I highly recommend going with a consultant over just signing with a single agency.

    Like

  3. Wow! 5 situations already! That is great! When did you start the adoption process? You will definitely be in my prayers as you continue your journey to your child!

    officially? Early April/Late March. But we had been working on the essay questions for a few weeks before that. I honestly think that the essays are the hardest part for some people (like my hubby) because they just don’t like to write. For me they were a breeze..but then I write. Lots. by choice. so………

    Like

Leave a Reply

