how to like mother’s day…

…..even when you don’t have kids.

the cynical side of me wants to ask God, “hello? didn’t you know this holiday was coming up? you are omnipotent right?  It would have been so perfect to have that sweet little 9 month old adopted boy on my lap for mother’s day.  Couldn’t you have worked out something by now?”

but here I sit. the Friday before “Mother’s Day” ….childless.

Yes, I know. Keep hoping. Trust God. They that wait upon the Lord, shall renew their strength, they shall mount up with wings as eagles…..yeh, I know.

I keep wondering if the renewing of strength is just a renewal so I can wait some more.

I’ve been doing really well recently. Christmas was an absolute disaster emotionally speaking. But since then I’ve been feeling very peaceful about the whole issue issue. I figure God will do what is right for us when He wants to. But I’m dreading Mother’s day. Kids everywhere. Mother’s glorified,  my poor hubby trying to be sensitive and supportive, and then there’s me.. sitting there in the pew like a lump, feeling like I’ve failed.  My sweet choir director even gave us the day off so we can sit with our families.  Great.  Wonderful.  So now I don’t even have singing to keep my mind occupied.  Yes, I’m feeling sorry for myself.  Yes, I know it’s not attractive.

Is God holding off on giving me good news about a pending adoption because He wants me to learn to NOT let the random circumstances of a holiday get me down? This is a hallmark scam anyway, why should I let it affect me? why do we celebrate it in church? “Mother’s Day” has nothing to do with God, but thats a whoooole ‘nother post.

So here’s my key to enjoying Mother’s Day: claim GOD’s joy. A joy that can not be disturbed by external factors.

Anyone got any verse that I can claim to help me through the day?

6 thoughts on “how to like mother’s day…

  1. “The joy of the Lord is my strength”. I know where you are at in this whole waiting game and God’s timing. Everyone has been telling me that God’s timing is perfect but just as I get a handle on an issue that is detrimental to me , God likes to allow other things into my life. It seems they just get more difficult. Try holding on to “His ways are higher than our ways saith the Lord”. Personally that verse makes me sick because all I am asking for is a break from all the crap I feel like I have been dealt. I know you must sometimes think down that vein.

    Love ya babe, hang in there.

    I love you too. And I’m sorry that life is not sweet right now. After just writing my previous post this may come across as hypocritical since I struggle in this area, but you have to let your peace come from GOD. Not be circumstance driven. Thank God for what he has given you. Two sons, and loving hubby and a beautiful daughter.

    Like

  2. The first verse that popped into my head was Rom. 14:5, “One man esteemeth one day above another: another esteemeth every day alike….” But the verses after it seem fitting, because it talks of the end result of life — the purpose of life. After saying that we should be thankful to God whatever we do (or don’t do), it says, “For none of us liveth to himself, and no man dieth to himself. For whether we live, we live unto the Lord; and whether we die, we die unto the Lord: whether we live therefore, or die, we are the Lord’s. For to this end Christ both died, and rose, and revived, that he might be Lord both of the dead and living.”

    Christ is the Lord of you, and He knows full well what He is doing in your life. For some reason a Christian book popped into my head that I read a few years ago. It was one on courtship, and one thing that I remember right now is the statement “hustle while you’re waiting” — don’t just focus on what you want but can’t do anything about right now; rather, look around for what you *can* do, and then *do it*! I can tell you right now that it’s easier to do a lot of things (like read your Bible, have daily devotions, get your house organized, etc.) without children than with them. Call it distracting yourself if you like, but find something to do and do it. You’ll be glad you did.

    This is the path that God is calling you to travel right now. Instead of focusing on how the thorns are keeping you from following a different path, look for the flowers that pop up along the path that you’re on.

    Like

  3. So here’s my first comment on your blog:

    I found this verse (verses) printed on a card at Trinity Presbyterian on Maundy Thursday this year. It’s helped me:

    9 I took you from the ends of the earth,
    from its farthest corners I called you.
    I said, ‘You are my servant’;
    I have chosen you and have not rejected you.

    10 So do not fear, for I am with you;
    do not be dismayed, for I am your God.
    I will strengthen you and help you;
    I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

    Isaiah 41:9-10

    Like

  4. yes, mother’s day just stinks. And, why in the world is it on a Sunday of all things? It has totally become this semi-religious holiday, when in fact it is just a secular holiday.

    This will be my first mother’s day as a mom, and it is still very bitterweet, remembering the painful years where i had to stay seated as they asked all moms to stand. Blinking back tears during the solo tribute to moms, etc. Wishing I could just stay in bed with the covers over my head instead of serving in church that day.

    All this to say… you are not alone!!! And it is ok to be sad.

    Thanks for putting such an honest post out there!!!

    Like

  5. hmmm…you asked for a verse recommendation. maybe from Job, ‘though He slay me, I will trust Him” (And I am only half kidding!)

    Also, how about the verse about how we are supposed to be confromed into the image of Christ, instead of what the world tells us we are supposed to be?? The world tells us that we aren’t a real woman if we never give birth, the world glorifies motherhood, etc., whereas we are called to be confromed into the likeness of Christ.

    Like

  6. verses? I love that one from Job that Grace listed (above). There were times that I thought that God hated me. And that was my constant refrain. Remember that Job isn’t about sufffering — Job never addresses suffering per se — What Job is about (IMO) is that when it’s all over, God is still there, and he’s still God.

    The other verse? Jeremiah (that I left for you earlier) — “I know the plans that I have for you.”

    You know that whole “God is my co-pilot” junk? I’m sorry. That’s a crock. You know what it feels like some days? God is the pilot, and I’m locked in the luggage bay. I haven’t a clue what’s up. I can’t even see where we’re going — but He’s driving, and I’ve learned that’s enough.

    Do you know the music of Michael Card?

    Pray for me, if you would. The job situation has changed somewhat. It looks like the 4-year biology program won’t make. I’m operating like I’m staying, but I’m also exploring my options as my department chair said. There’s a position open at Shorter College (and one in Florence Alabama). I followed God (kicking and screaming every step of the way practically) to south Georgia. And I do like it here, but I’m so far from home. I”m prepared to stay here if that’s what He wants … and I’m prepared to follow him to someplace else if that’s what He wants. I don’t like living in limbo-land. I suspect that’s part of the reason that I spend so much time here — it’s my own private “wilderness.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

