sit……stay.

The Lord also will be a refuge for the oppressed, a refuge in times of trouble. And those who know your name will put their trust in you: for you LORD have not forsaken those who seek you.

Psalm 9:9 & 10

Ever found yourself in the position of waiting?   On the doctor, on God, on a friend, or some news.   Have you noticed that time can just crawl when you are waiting?

yup. thought you might have noticed that.

And what do most of us do while we are waiting? do you fidget?

I know I do.

Not physically so much.  But mentally I fidget BIG TIME.   I pay attention to the time. I listen to the calls the receptionist is fielding and keep track of the patient list so I know how many customers there still are between me and …whatever it is I’m waiting for. I keep track of the other folks waiting for a table to make sure my party hasn’t been skipped over.

In general, I am really bad at waiting.  Especially if I feel as if there is anything at all I can do, no matter how small, to influence or shorten the time I’m gonna have to wait.

On the other hand I’m very good about traffic lights. I KNOW beyond a shadow of a doubt that there is NOTHING I can do to make the timing of that light change. It’s not a human agency. It’s a machine. And there is no arguing with it.

Same thing with elevator buttons. I don’t bother pushing them multiple times. Once the machine has acknowledged that I actually pushed the button, pushing it again just isn’t going to help anything. The only thing being hastened by those folks who push the elevator buttons to death is the day the repair guy is going to have to come out and replace the worn out button.

So why can’t I think of my prayer life in terms of an elevator?  Why can’t I push the button “LORD I need your help with this certain situation” and then LEAVE IT ALONE.   Why do I keep treating God as if he was a receptionist or a maitre’d that I need to watch carefully to make sure he doesn’t skip over my request or forget about me.

Hello? what? ME?  Helping GOD?  who am I kidding here?  I’m probably only making it harder for Him to get me out of whatever jam I’m in.

Look at the verse from Psalms again:

In order to take refuge………one MUST be STILL

don’t fidget.  don’t fret.  don’t mentally chew on the problem.

Leave it with God, climb inside the hollow of HIS hand and REST IN HIM.

LORD, help me to REST in you. To seek refuge in your word.  But more than that Lord, help me to STAY PUT and let you do your thing.

2 thoughts on “sit……stay.

  1. Maybe one of the reasons we treat God like a maitre d’ is because we think if we ask Him more than once, He may answer it according to our purpose instead of His purpose. I know about waiting also- remembering when we were waiting for Lily. Interesting thing is you get to wait and you have an end of the tunnel- birth mother giving birth. There is an end to your wait. Try and look at it that way. We had to wait until the US govt saw fit to give my daughter permission. It got to a point where I talked to my congressman and said my daughter was ill and needed to get to the country asap. Within two weeks after that, we had a date. I still I have to wait now- I have to wait to see if my mom has cancer-not fun. You will be waiting for something everyday of your life. WELCOME!!!!

    Janna

    I didn’t know about your mom. Please keep me posted. We will pray for her.
    hugs,
    Deirdre

    Like

Leave a Reply

