showers of blessings

Is rain a blessing?

In the physical world we have no trouble understanding this. Rain IS a blessing. It makes things grow, it moderates our climate, it is necessary.

Yes, there are also floods, and monsoons and erosion and damage caused by rain, but over all we seem to have no trouble understanding that rain is a necessity.

Crops must grow, rain must collect in streams, rivers, springs, lakes etc. we go to those streams and we drink.

But what is happening to the rock underneathe the stream?

Whatever the stream is cutting through, be it rock, dirt, sand, or clay is being formed, shaped, molded by the waters. Not to be hackneyed here, but think Grand Canyon folks.

In Ezekiel God says he will rain down showers of blessings on his people.

I think to a certain extent, if we are honest with ourselves, we all have an image that accompanies those words. Showers of blessings, to most of us is a pile of presents. A kid standing hip deep in “good things” – the proverbial “Christmas morning in the house of plenty”

But is it possible that when God speaks of showers of blessing what He means is the very same thing that most of us call “trials and tribulations”

Is it possible that the blessing IS the rain?

When have you felt closest to God? is it when things are going well? or is it when you are at the end of your rope and you cry out to God?

I did something yesterday that I’ve never done before in my life. I was in a rough place and I told God “Look, I don’t know what to do or what to say here. I need your help LORD. I’m going to get up from my desk, walk away from the phone and the computer and take the office mail to the mailbox. LORD please meet me at the mailbox.”

and when I got to the mailbox I sat down in the grass and said “Alright LORD, I’m here. AND I’M NOT LEAVING TILL I HEAR FROM YOU”

and He showed up. Oh boy howdy HE SHOWED UP.

Now, honestly, would I have ever done that if I had been having a good day? If I had felt like I could deal on my own?

Which leads me to another thought:

Is it possible that the problems we face (the ones which force us onto our knees or out to the mail box) actually ARE the blessing ?

think about it.

I’ve included below the quote from Ezekiel. When you read it, let the abundance of agricultural references just soak into your soul. You know what God is telling you from this, and here is what He whispered to me:

Child, your problems ARE my gift to you. The “problems” ARE the blessings. Enjoy them. Listen to my power, be molded by the never ending flow of my blessings in your life. Turn to me, depend on me. I will always show up.

Ezekial 34:26 – 31

26 I will bless them and the places surrounding my hill. I will send down showers in season; there will be showers of blessing. 27 The trees of the field will yield their fruit and the ground will yield its crops; the people will be secure in their land. They will know that I am the LORD, when I break the bars of their yoke and rescue them from the hands of those who enslaved them. 28 They will no longer be plundered by the nations, nor will wild animals devour them. They will live in safety, and no one will make them afraid. 29 I will provide for them a land renowned for its crops, and they will no longer be victims of famine in the land or bear the scorn of the nations. 30 Then they will know that I, the LORD their God, am with them and that they, the house of Israel, are my people, declares the Sovereign LORD. 31 You my sheep, the sheep of my pasture, are people, and I am your God, declares the Sovereign LORD.’ ”

Thank you God almighty, for showing up yesterday and always.

2 thoughts on “showers of blessings

Leave a Reply

