the perfect Bride

Martin thinks I\'m perfect

Jude 1: 24 & 25

24. To him who is able to keep you from falling and to present you before his glorious presence without fault and with great joy—

25. to the only God our Savior be glory, majesty, power and authority, through Jesus Christ our Lord, before all ages,

now and forevermore! Amen.

And to present you before his glorious presence WITHOUT FAULT…..

can you wrap your brain around that? more, can you grasp that it is a FREE GIFT?

We don’t have to buy something for “just three easy payments of $39.99”

all we have to do is accept HIS free gift and we will be presented before God as BLAMELESS, PERFECT.

When was the last time you were perfect?

I don’t know about you, but I’ve never achieved it. Even on my wedding day. The day, of all days, that a woman is supposed to be as close to perfect as possible.

My hair didn’t QUITE do what it was supposed to. I had managed to make it do what I wanted many times before, but on my wedding day? nope. sorry. The hair follicles did not get the memo.

My poor groom and I had neither one of us gotten sufficient sleep for weeks before the wedding, so while I could cover up most of the visible ravages with make-up, poor Martin looks like a very tired vampire in some of the photos.

Even though I had lost a fair amount of weight, it could still be technically said that my arms were way too fat to wear the dress that I chose.

My brain betrayed me (I forgot numerous things I was supposed to do or say), my temper frayed once or twice (yes, I even snapped at my sainted mother) and my feet hurt!!!!

But you know who thought I was perfect? Martin. He looked at me with eyes of absolute love. But it was still a human love.

So even the day that was supposed to be perfect, the day that I worked towards and spent loads of time preparing for I was imperfect. How much less perfect am I every day of the daily grind? How much more does my temper fray, how much less respect have I given my body (which is the temple of the LORD most High) as I have gained 30 extra pounds? How many times have I fallen into tempting thought patterns, or spoken an unkind word? How many times a day do I succumb to pride, gluttony, greed, envy, sloth? How many times have I run from what I know to be right, messed up my life and then had to turn to God to pick the pieces up?

But with all this, God loves me with a vision that sees only His Perfect child.

Thank you Jesus, for your sacrifice, for Your life that covers mine so that God Most High sees only Your perfection when He looks at imperfect, stained, muddied, bruised, Deirdre. Help me to rest in You. Help me to value your blood as the gift beyond price.

Leave a Reply

