Secondhand Lions

Just saw the movie “Secondhand Lions” this past weekend.

Had no idea what I was getting into.

It was recommended by a friend of ours who likes horror, so I didn’t know what to expect.

Turns out it was a sweet character development piece. The type of movie that hardly ever comes out of Hollywood anymore.

Robert Duval, Haley Joel Osment, Kyra Sedgwick and Michael Kane. All quality actors who bring something special to this script.

Rent it. Be prepared though, the pacing is not what you are used to. Leave your cynicism in the kitchen, sit down on the couch and just watch. Revel in a movie that celebrates growing up and preserves innocent joy at the same time.

2 thoughts on “Secondhand Lions

  1. I adore that movie. It’s on my list of “required viewing”. As a woman with no children, I have to admit that the thing I bring away from that movie every time is the contribution that the two uncles made in that boy’s life. They weren’t his parents, but they had a profound and positive impact on his character development. It reminds me that I should never squander the opportunities to be a good influence on the children in my life, even though I am not a mother.

    AMEN

    Like

Leave a Reply

