drifting

perhaps it has someting to do with the severe lack of sleep recently in my life.

perhaps it has to do with some highly charged situations I’m currently involved in

perhaps it is the fact that the style of the writer of the bible study I’ve been doing this summer is just not quite “getting to me”

but for whatever reason, I’ve been drifting a bit.

I am so looking forward to September when my small group starts a new Bible study.  We will be doing a study of the book of Daniel and I already know I love the author.

Until then, I’m going to go with an old stand-by: songs.

For some reason “Come thou fount of every blessing, tune my heart to sing Thy praise” is running through my head at this moment.

somehow even when I am in a spiritually dry place I can always count on songs, hymns of the faith, to move me.  To soften me and remind me who I belong to and how much I owe Him.

4 thoughts on “drifting

  1. I agree with you completely about songs. They speak to me when nothing else will.

    “Then sings my soul, my Saviour God to thee, How Great Thou Art, How Great Thou Art”…gets to me every time.

    “Friend, are you weary and troubled? No light in the darkness you see? There’s light for a look at the Saviour. And life more abundant and free.

    Turn your eyes upon Jesus, look full in his wonderful face. And the things of Earth will grow stangely dim, in the light of His glory and grace.”

    That one brings me to tears and to my knees…every time.

    Like

  2. I love that song. It will be singing in my head for the rest of the day. 🙂

    He who sings, prays twice.

    “For he that singeth praise, not only praiseth, but only praiseth with gladness: he that singeth praise, not only singeth, but also loveth him of whom he singeth. In praise, there is the speaking forth of one confessing; in singing, the affection of one loving.”
    (St. Augustine, Commentary on Psalm 73, 1)

    “Music is a Fair and Glorious Gift of God. I wish to see all arts, principally music in the service of Him who gave and created them. I would not for all the world forego my humble share of music. Singers are never sorrowful, but are merry, and smile through their troubles in song. Music makes people kinder, gentler, more staid and reasonable. I am strongly persuaded that after theology there is no art that can be placed on a level with music; for besides theology music is the only art capable of affording peace and joy of the heart.”
    — Martin Luther

    Like

Leave a Reply

