Gratitude is like warm bread

Beth had something to say on her blog the other day that I wanted to share with you.

God’s been reminding me of the powerful words of Isaiah 55:8-11.

“For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,” declares the Lord. “As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts. As the rain and the snow come down from heaven, and do not return to it without watering the earth and making it bud and flourish, so that it yields seed for the sower and bread for the eater, so is my word that goes out from my mouth: It will not return to me empty, but will accomplish what I desire and achieve the purpose for which I sent it.”

The part He’s really been highlighting to me is the “seed for the sower and bread for the eater.” Seeds: words we’re planting and waiting on. Bread: words that have endured the test of time and the heat of the furnace and finally made it to our tables. Here’s what occurred to me. At any given time, we have both: words from God we’re still waiting on and words from God that have recently come to pass. Sometimes we’re so focused on the seed that hasn’t shown a harvest that we ignore the bread sitting right in front of us. We faint from sowing the seed because we’re not eating the bread. Stop a minute. Consider what God has done. Marvel over how He’s answered prayer and brought words to pass. Think about a crisis five years ago that doesn’t even take up ink in your prayer journal anymore. Reflect on how many things God has taken from seed to bread in your life. Note it. Meditate on it. Don’t drive through it. Dine on it. Slap some butter on that warm bread and savor a slow bite of it!

I don’t know about you but sometimes I’m so busy pestering the seed that my bread is gets stale.

While you wait on that seed, eat that bread. (from LPM blog, by Beth Moore)

In light of that, I’m posting a gratitude list.  Things I am grateful for this morning:

  • our daughter Ginny’s cord stump came off last night. Yay! diapers can finally wrap around her the way they are supposed to.
  • Ginny likes her formula cold.  Yup, you heard me right.  I can stumble out of bed, grope my way to the fridge, pull out a bottle….and put it right in her mouth.  She actually drinks more that way.  Don’t know how long this will last, but I’m gonna enjoy it while I’ve got it.
  • A husband who will graciously let me sleep the WHOLE night through, just because I have a bible study to go to today. 
  • Freinds who keep on emailing me and checking on us to let us know we aren’t forgotten.  Even though we’ve been gone most of the summer.  That means a lot.
  • A random group of church ladies who invited a perfect stranger into their Bible study for this week.  And if you know how intensely personal Beth Moore’s studies can get you will understand that this is not a light invitation.

Thank you Lord, for so much answered prayer in my life.   I am standing hip deep in a room full of warm bread.

2 thoughts on “Gratitude is like warm bread

  1. Good news, usually if they like it cold, they like it cold for the long haul! Lily never liked hers warmed up. She spoiled me because my guys always turned their noses up at the cold stuff.

    I’m so glad you found a church there to support you through this while your own is so far away. I bet they are chomping at the bit to get their hands on little Miss Ginny!

    You can stop in and do Daniel here in Illinois any time you like! =)

    Like

  2. Don’t keep the stump. Let’s just say that putting it in a little plastic bag and putting it in a drawer turned out to be WAY GROSS.
    Just, yuck.
    Do you HEAR the voice of experience???

    Yeah, I kinda looked at it. Went. “neat” and then tossed it. Am I too cynical to count as a first time mom?

    Like

Leave a Reply

