Ginny’s first Boulder trip

Okay, first off I have to say that the Atlanta airport security folks were wonderful! I didn’t even have to look for the “special assistance needed” section, they saw me and the stroller and just about knocked Martin over trying to get to me to help me through security. I was amazed.

And then the guys in Boulder when we were coming home were even better. They actually put the stroller back together for me and made sure I had Ginny placed securely in it before they moved on to the next person. So all my fears and teeth grindings were completely un-neccessary. I don’t know if I’ve ever been so happy to be wrong.

Ginny did great on the plane, as always. And charmed everyone. Everywhere this child goes she practically has paporrazzi wanting to snap her photo. And she is absolutely a proven kick-start to your “biological clock”

I can’t count the number of women who, after passing us, could be heard leaning over to the husbands and saying “tick tock tick tock”

Our friend Kelly (who was visiting us with her husband Bill) ran the Denver Half-Marathon on Sunday, so we pretty much spent the weekend relaxing. It would have made no sense to wear Kelly out on climbing expeditions into the hills right before a Marathon. And of course afterwards she was not real interested in hiking. Hence we had a fairly relaxing weekend of shopping, eating and watching football. torture.

Kelly was a HUGE help with Ginny. bill helped too, but I don't have a photo of that.

Kelly was a HUGE help with Ginny.

Bill was a big help too, but I don’t have a photo of that.

Boulder has a great little shopping district called Pearl Street. It has lots of street performers and great shops (as well as food) and we go almost every time. It is always essential to get a photo on Pearl street. Some people even play with the sculptures….

Bill & Kelly playing with the Elk

Bill & Kelly playing with the Elk

Daddy and Daughter on Pearl Street

Daddy and Daughter on Pearl Street

Martin’s sister Rebecca drove over from Aspen to meet Ginny.

Ginny & Aunt Rebecca

Ginny & Aunt Rebecca

in front of the cabin

in front of the cabin

And we also got to see and have dinner with some friends of ours from Boulder (Will, Lori & their little girl Trianna) I think Trianna liked petting the baby.

Trianna meets Ginny

Trianna meets Ginny

Ginny either really likes the mountain air in Colorado or she hates it. We can’t tell which. For some reason, unfathomable by grown up minds, she decided that this was the perfect weekend for a growth spurt. What that meant for us was that Ginny was needing more food than usual and at more frequent intervals. So Martin and I got very little real sleep. Hence the slightly under-dressed look mommy is sporting in this next photo

breakfast for one, on the porch

breakfast for one, on the porch

But whatever she was doing, she now seems heavier and she is definitely filling out her new-born clothing completely. It happened almost over night.

Over-all it was a lovely weekend. The weather was just gorgeous and I swear the leaves on the trees were changing over night. Just like Ginny.

Here’s one last shot of us at the cabin. This is the view from our deck where we have breakfast most days when were are there. Enjoy.

the Flatirons are behind us

the Flatirons are behind us

2 thoughts on “Ginny’s first Boulder trip

  1. Beautiful. I enjoyed my photo trip to Colorado! And honestly, I know Ginny isn’t “big” yet, but she is certainly filling more of my arms today My first day of Ginny care starting at 6:30 a.m. has been delightful! Sent pictures of Ginny trying to turn over. Hope they will be posted later on.

    Like

Leave a Reply

