how to get more sleep

Ginny is about to out grow her cradle.

Which means we will shortly have to move her to her real crib in her actual nursery.

Up till now she has slept in a hand crafted cradle that my father made. She sleeps just three feet from our bed. Which means we hear her REALLY well at night.

So well in fact that last night her coo-ing kept us both from getting sleep. Notice I didn’t say crying. I said cooing.

Ginny was perfectly happy. She was cooing and gurgling and examining her own feet and fingers all night. But even though she wasn’t in any sort of distress, both Martin and I woke up terribly tired.

But even though I desperately need sleep, I am TERRIFIED of moving her to her real crib in the other room. It is only 40 feet away from us, but it feels like I’m banishing my child to the far side of the moon. Or across the ocean.

What if I can’t hear her when she needs me? She’s only just three months old. This is too young! What if I don’t wake up? What if she is messed up for life because I don’t respond fast enough to her needs? Will I still be able to hear her? really? I have a monitor already that we use when she is asleep and we are on another floor.  I know it works when I am awake, but what about when I go to sleep!!!!!!  aaaaarrrrgh!

So, we are going to try to do this gradually.

Here’s the plan:

Since Ginny’s cradle is so movable, we are thinking that starting tonight, we will begin moving her cradle further away from our bed. Probably the first stop will be the other side of our bedroom. Then after a night or two of that, we will move her into the hall half way to the other bed room. The next night we would put her in her actual nursery, but still in her cradle. So at the end of the week, she would be in her real nursery and maybe ready to sleep in her crib.

Mommy of course will either be a nervous wreck or sleeping blissfully.

Any thoughts? Does this sound workable? Anyone got any suggestions?

am I totally weird for obsessing over this?

8 thoughts on “how to get more sleep

  1. Two words — **baby monitor** — that’s it. Use it for a few days and experiment to see how sensitive it is. When I was babysitting years ago, I would have the volume as high as it would go, and could hear the baby breathing during naptime. With a noise machine going in the room. Imagine what it sounded like when the baby woke up and started crying! (Actually, I would usually hear him rustling and stirring, so was able to wrap things up and turn the volume down and get to him before he actually blew out my eardrum with crying.) Since my kids are now 4 & 2, I don’t use the monitor like that any more, but I have it downstairs so I can keep tabs on them while I’m upstairs at the computer. Believe me, I can hear *everything*. Recently, I was waiting for a package to be delivered, so I had the monitor in a front windowsill facing the road. We live probably a quarter mile from the highway as the crow flies, but I could hear cars and trucks and big rigs (and could tell the difference between them) going down the highway… the wind blowing… rain falling — you name it! When the monitor was in their bedroom, which is right below our upstairs computer room, if I had the volume all the way up, I could hear my own footsteps as I walked from the monitor to the computer. Over carpet. Oh, yeah, you’ll be able to hear the baby!

    Like

  2. Totally normal. I think I had trouble with each of my kids moving out of my room. In the end it does make for far better sleep, but initially it will mean you sneaking into their room at weird hours of the night to watch to make sure they are breathing and all is well. The baby monitor thing is a great idea. Our boys sleep in a bedroom right accross the hall from ours. Moving them over only blocked out the very softest noises. With the doors open we always heard fussing from the very beginning. It makes for better sleep for baby too. They stop getting woekn up by Mom & Dad’s sleep noises. you know, that loud snoring and all =). We never ended up needing the monitors because we were so close, but they do help put your mind at ease. Don’t worry if 6 months from now you still are popping in to hear her breathe, it’s still normal!

    We have a great monitor. I just have to convince my heart that it is okay to move my child to another room.

    Like

  3. OK, this is important. At about the 4-5 month point in Solvi’s development, I realized/decided the following:

    1) I was NOT getting enough sleep
    2) The baby monitor woke me up just about as often as when she was in the same room.
    3) Solvi was a hardy child: If she was unable to make herself heard through the wall (her crib was on the other side of the wall from my room) with her door shut (to keep out cats) and my door open, then she didn’t really need me. She could entertain herself without me and I could get some sleep.
    4) [And this is the hard one] If she was going to quietly die in her sleep from SIDS, I was unlikely to be able to do anything about it no matter where I was. That’s the point of SIDS – it’s quiet and subtle and while you can do lots to try to prevent it, there is nothing to let you know it is “happening” so you can fix it. Also – given that she was such a light sleeper and spent most of her time tossing and turning *anyway* – I figured a buildup of CO2 was unlikley at the rate she moved in her sleep.

    I put her to sleep in her crib, turned off the baby monitor, and then I collapsed into bed and SLEPT – uninterrupted for about 3-4 hours. The first time I slept without interruption for 6 hours I felt like a goddess. And I was a BETTER MOMMY.

    So – this issue is NOT about Ginny. This issue is about *you* being able to sleep without her in the room. I think your gradual plan is a good idea, especially if it makes you calmer (and better able to sleep). It should also assist Ginny *if* she has any separation anxiety about the process. Now is better – in a month or two she will be MORE likely to have problems with the move (as her memory & cognition will have improved).

    Like

  4. I think this is crazy talk. Just move her. Every new thing is a trauma for babies. Just move her to the crib and be done with it. This scooting down the hall is for your piece of mind, not hers.
    Trust me. If you think the time to move her out of your room is now, you’re right. I will say this, however: cold sheets wake a baby faster than a slap in the face! flannel is your friend….

    Yup. my baby girl does love her some fuzzy sheets.

    Like

  5. I am in the just move her camp , I think you make more stress by creating a different situation each night.
    James was moved into his own room before 3 months, because we kept waking each other up. I didn’t use a monitor during the night, only during the day if I went out to the barn.
    You will be able to hear her if she needs you during the night.

    Well, as it turns out, when we started trying to figure out a midway point between our room and hers the logistics of it just didn’t work out. So we ended up just moving her cradle into the nursery. She isn’t quite ready to be in the wide open spaces of the full sized crib yet so moving the cradle made sense to us.
    We all three got 7 hours of sleep last night. All at the same time. Hopefully this will be a trend and not a blip.

    Like

  6. I agree – just get it over with. You will wake up over every sound on the monitor, too, so you should consider going without one – if not now, then soon. She’ll let you know when she needs you!

    Like

  7. I am giggling 🙂

    Trust me, you will hear her. You will hear every little snort. In fact, you will hear babies crying that do not even exist. Even when I am in my bed, with white noise on and earplugs in, I still am convinced I hear a baby cry.

    Also, all of my children have cried for extended periods and are just fine. At one point the monitor WILL malfunction and your child will scream for who knows how long before you hear her, and she will survive. You will bring her down, almost in tears from guilt, and she will look at you and give you a huge smile and be over it instantly.

    One of the beautiful things about babies is that they have very short memories.

    thank the good Lord for that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

