what on earth?

I just opened my blog and I’ve gotten 236 hits so far today…………

My normal hit level is around 50 a day, so what on earth is up with that?

it’s almost creepy.

if anyone knows how I can track this to figure out why I’m suddenly getting all these hits, please let me know.

****update**** I think I figured it out.  It looks like in the last two days someone new has suddenly discovered my blog and has gone through and read every entry I ever wrote.  Wow.

And each time they are reading a post it is showing up as a separate hit.

wow.  I really had no idea I had written so many posts.

um, hi, whoever you are.  When you get to this post…please leave a comment.  I’d love to meet you.  Anyone dedicated enough to read all those posts deserves a personal Hello from the author.

2 thoughts on “what on earth?

  1. I never knew that clicking on individual posts counted as separate hits. Lots of times I’ll visit somebody’s blog 2 or 3 times a day on the off chance that there’s something new there.

    Hmmm. Maybe this explains those days when I 30 hits versus the days when I have 5. Grin.

    I gather there are IP address trackers/data loggers, but I don’t know how they work or where they are. Pretty sure, though, that somebody else who reads your blog can tell you.

    Glad everybody is getting better!

    I’m not sure that it is the individual posts getting hit that is causing the numbers to go up, but there is strong evidence in that direction.

    Like

  2. Very creepy!

    Well, less so now that I think I’ve figured out what was going on. But still. It is very weird to check your stats and see that out of eeh blue they have gone up by a factor of TEN!

    Like

Leave a Reply

