love me tender

I want to be more sensitive.

Now to those people who know me and know how “over-sensitive” I already am, I will submit to you that what you are labeling “over sensitive” in me right now is actually just a tendency to over-react.

What I’m talking about when I say I want to be more sensitive is that I want my heart to be more tender.  Softer.  Ready to feel the promptings of the Holy Spirit.  Less…..um…… arrogant.

There’s the biggie.  I have a real tendency towards arrogance.  Especially in my inner thoughts.

Its ugly and it is doing me no favors in my work, family or friend circles.

This is something I have fought against all my life.  There is a certain hardness of my heart, an impatience, a disdain.  Especially towards people who are slow, or even those who are emotionally more vulnerable than I am.  Including, sometimes, my own husband.

This is BAD.

I don’t speak my feelings out loud.  But some times they show on my face, or in my voice.  BUT even if they never show to others, God sees them and I am convinced that he is grieved by my horrible attitude.

I’ve tried to change, but I am coming to the realization that I simply CAN’T DO THIS ON MY OWN.

It’s like asking someone with a faulty heart valve to perform surgery on themselves.  It is simply not possible.

The good news is that God has offered to help me.

“I will give you a new heart and put a new spirit in you; I will remove from you your heart of stone and give you a heart of flesh”  Ezekiel 36:26

Thank you LORD.  Make me tender.  I am afraid of asking this Jesus, because I am horribly afraid that the method for making me tender is going to be that you will have to put me through some horrible trial.  But LORD I don’t like me very much the way I am, so …….

all the same, if you can tenderize me gently LORD, I’d appreciate it.

One thought on “love me tender

  1. Awww, thank you so much for sharing from your heart. Lovely family pictures also. Blessings!

    Hi, thanks for stopping by and commenting. Love the budgies on your blog page. So cute! Drop by anytime.

    Like

Leave a Reply

