no more scream?

I am torn about this.  I want to change the name of my blog, but I don’t want to lose people who know the screamofcontinuousness name.

On the other hand you would not believe how many people just don’t understand.  They see that name whenever I leave a comment and they make a snap judgment about me, my state of mind…everything.  And that colors how they read anything I have to say.

For those not familiar with the story it has to do with an old boyfriend.  It was a fun little play on words.  You know “Stream of Consciousness”  ?  only this is scream of….alright.  you get it.    And yes, back in 2007 when I started blogging it was to deal with some depression issues,…..but those are gone.  I dealt with them.  Okay, actually God dealt with them after He got me out of the way.

but anyway, I’m still carrying the name around.

So I have two questions:

1. If I was to change the blog name does anyone conversant with WordPress want to help me figure out the logistical issues?  I am sticking with wordpress though.  That much I’m sure of.

2. anyone got a suggestion for a name?  I’m stumped.

hope you are having a lovely weekend,

Deirdre

p.s. I am temporarily going with “the Russell Report” because that is what we call our yearly newsletter to family.

5 thoughts on “no more scream?

  1. I have a 3rd suggestion — you can change how your name posts in comments. From the Dashboard, go to “Users” and “Your Profile”; and nearly smack-dab in the middle of the page will be “Display name publicly as” and a drop-down box for you to choose your moniker. You can use your blog name (which is the default, and how you have it now), or you can use your first or last name, or both, or your last name followed by your first name, etc. That’s what I’ve done, which is why my comments come up as “Kathy” rather than my blog name.

    Yes. I did that already. I found that option after posting.

    Like

  2. P.s. — I like your blog name as it is, particularly the pun of “stream of consciousness”.

    yes, but as I said, you would not believe how many people just don’t get it.

    Like

  3. I can’t believe that people are so obnoxious (needy, stupid, opinionated, bored…etc) that they have to comment about the name of your blog. Your blog name should be whatever you want it to be! It is your right!

    Regardless of the name of your blog, I will still read it diligently!

    I don’t think there is any malicious intent. I just think that I am setting myself up for people to misunderstand me by having a blog name that needs so much explanation. It is open to drastic misinterpretation.
    I’m not angry about it. Just trying to reduce the barriers to understanding.

    and thanks for reading! I ‘love all 8 of my regular readers *grin*

    Like

  4. I think if YOU feel the need to change the name, then go for it. Right now the way you have it, so that I can type in the old name on my browser but it shows up under the new name, is really convenient for me (because we all know it’s about ME grin), but if you change the URL too, I can adapt. I wonder if there is a redirect feature in wordpress that will allow you to change the actual name and if people type in the old one, it’ll redirect.

    I wish I had some clever ideas for you for a name, but I don’t, although the Russell Report works pretty well.

    Regardless, I like reading your stuff and I pretty much formed my opinions by your writing, not your blog title.

    I’m not going to change the URL. WordPress does have a feature that would allow me to move over all of my content EXCEPT the photos !!! How silly is that? So, no I’m not changing the URL.

    I’m just trying to think of a new title to put on the front page. Water under the bridge ?
    happiest adoptive mommy in the universe?
    Don’t Panic, God is in the Room.
    Journey to the Promised Land.
    There and back again?
    “Heralding the Divine” or “Hark the Heralds”(subtitled) seeking Godly inspiration in everyday happenings…..

    I’m an adoptive mom, I’m a Christian, I sing, I do SCA and I love to write. It’s kind of like trying to come up with a heraldic device. You want the title to MEAN something, be clever and encompass/personify YOU.

    Like

  5. more ideas:

    Reflections and More: God’s light on the water of my life

    Playing in Puddles

    the song that never ends (this is a play on the screamofcontinuousness joke)

    or

    the song goes on……….

    leap of faith

    Anybody got a favorite yet? I’ve had one vote for the “Don’t Panic, God is in the Room” title. I’m worried that is sounds a bit too flippant though.

    help me out here folks,

    Deirdre

    Like

Leave a Reply

