bits and pieces

I’ve just spent four full days without any dairy products of any kind in my system.

I

am

gonna

go

insane

very soon if I can’t have cheese. White Mexican cheese dip specifically.

This wasn’t a completely random decision. I had all four of my wisdom teeth out on Thursday morning.  Whenever I asked what I could eat after the proceedure I kept getting the same answer :

Ice cream, yogurt, cottage cheese, milk shakes, jello pudding.

um, let me get this straight.  You want to take out four of my teeth, give me drugs that will make me want to not move for four days and feed me a diet of all dairy?  oh and I can’t brush my teeth during this time for fear of disturbing the surgical site?

So in the space of four days I will gain 10 pounds and have a mound of decay in my remaining teeth.  Lovely.

NOT !

So I went the opposite direction. I decided to cut out dairy for seven days.  I’m drinking beef broth, chicken broth, tea, water, fruit purees and the occasional serving of clear jello.

Providentially, the day after my surgery I got a call from my general practitioner…..  To tell me that my cholesterol was too high and they were going to have to put me on medication for it.

So I guess my planned orgy of dairy goodness that I had scheduled for this Friday is going to have to be put off.  I’ll reintroduce dairy slowly.

*sigh*

In the meantime here is a great substitute that I found to make my broths into creamy soups with NO DAIRY – use coconut milk.  Yup canned coconut milk.  Just 1 tablespoon of it in two cups of beef broth turns the clear boring broth into a creamy dish of delight.

or at least that is what I’m telling myself.

4 thoughts on “bits and pieces

  1. So sorry you had your teeth out; I had it done in high school and it was murder! Hang in there! And good idea about the dairy – what you’re eating sounds much healthier, anyway.

    Like

  2. Goodness gracious! non-fat yogurt! low-fat cottage cheese! non-fat ice cream! (Ok – LOW fat ice cream) while not optimal – certainly better than NO dairy at ALL!

    I also recommend this stuff:
    http://caloriecount.about.com/calories-bolthouse-farms-perfectly-protein-vanilla-i89009

    160 calories in 8oz, 10g protein (that’s 24% of your daily), and only 5% of daily fat (27 calories worth). Also a pile of vitamins, and well, a decent bit of sugar – but not a choleserol issue!

    Like

Leave a Reply

