September 28, 2010

today I lost my job.

a job I had been in for just shy of 10 years.  I started there October 16th of 2000 and my final day of work will be October 1st of 2010.

I never wanted to leave.  My disposition is funny that way.  Advancement is not really my thing.  The desire to change jobs every 3 to  5 years just baffles me.  I want to stay put.

And in this job, I thought I had found it.  I loved the people.  I enjoyed the environment.  and the benefits were great.

but……

Then the economy happened.  and there was a reduction in force.  Again.  my husband Martin lost his job to a Reduction in Force last year in August.  And now mine got cut.  Nothing personal.  Just math.  Frankly the look in my boss’ eyes told me that he hates this as much as I do.

So…….

now what?

I’ll tell you what – for the first time in 10 years we are now open to God sending us anywhere.  We are no longer hampered by the luxury of my benefits.  We can see what other possibilities are out there.

skeptics will say “none!”

I say “let’s wait and see what God has in store.”

oh and I get to spend more time with my favorite Bible study partner and my wonderful baby girl.

5 thoughts on “September 28, 2010

  1. I’m so sorry. I’m happy that you are finding the positives in the situation, and I hope that the employment issue resolves itself soon. Good luck!

    Like

  2. I’m sorry! But on the other hand, getting “rif’d” in 2005 was the best thing that ever happened to me. I didn’t know it then, but God was in it 100%. It sounds like you’ve figured that out already – good for you!!!!

    Like

  3. “Let’s wait and see what God has in store.”
    Ah, yes! Because He is always up to something good. Even when the wait is long and difficult.
    You’ve walked this road before and He has shown Himself faithful to you.
    Hmmmm. I wish the economy didn’t stink in Michigan. Cuz then I’d be hoping you might be open to what He might have in store up here. *grin*

    Like

Leave a Reply

