why I’m not blogging much right now

I’ve been needing to write this post for a while.

Some people have asked me to write more and I’ve blamed the non-writing spell on my skating, but that does an injustice to skating that I can’t bear any longer.

Really, honestly.  It’s about my job and doing it to the best of my ability.

I have a very distractible mind.  My mother says that when I was in school I “majored in distractions”

She is right.

I routinely have way too many activities, thoughts, and goals in progress at any given moment.  This applies to my brain in the car, at home and all too often, at work.

The job I used to have was very free-form and allowed for me to have time during the day to write blog posts drafts as they occurred to me.  The job I have now, frankly doesn’t have that kind of flexibility.  It is much more task driven.  And we are deeply understaffed.  I spend every minute here trying to catch up to the mounds of work that surround me.  In order to write, I would have to steal time from my employer and the tasks that have been assigned to me.  And that, my friends, is not good stewardship of my time as well as being just flat out dishonest.

Colossians 3:22-24(NIV)

22 Slaves, obey your earthly masters in everything; and do it, not only when their eye is on you and to curry their favor, but with sincerity of heart and reverence for the Lord. 23 Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for human masters, 24 since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward. It is the Lord Christ you are serving.

Which basically eliminates writing at work unless I write on my lunch break. (more on that later) 

So why not write at home?

If you could see my home office you would understand why that suggestion just won’t fly.  

So what part does skating play in why I’m not writing?

Well….if I wasn’t getting up at 4 a.m. in the mornings to go skate, and therefore having to go to bed at 8p.m. each night, I guess I would have more time to clean house, and I might be able to find that home office computer desk.  If that home office was clean and neat, I might feel a desire to go in there and write.

But to be honest, even if I wasn’t skating, there would be Ginny.

Welcoming me home.  Wanting me to see what she drew, or watch some new tumbling trick she made up, or just sit and watch some random Disney movie with her.

And ya know what?  Ginny is gonna win over the computer every time.

Which is why I was writing at work, but I can’t now.  So….I’ll pop on here when I have something to contribute.  But for now, living life is taking a higher priority than cleaning house, or writing.

 

Leave a Reply

