mourning

I stopped wearing purple today.

You may not have noticed, but I was wearing purple every Thursday because Prince died on a Thursday. But I have to stop now. I’m still sad about Prince, and Bowie and Alan Rickman….but they lived larger than life and are being mourned by millions. I’m far more horrified by the news coming from Minnesota this morning, and from Dhaka over the weekend, and Orlando last month.

We all have a God-shaped hole in our hearts, and until people realize (each individual person, you can’t legislate this) that they need a higher power helping them from the inside, the mess will just keep getting worse.

I know I will lose some friends for having the nerve to say this.

We all, individually, need to get right with God.

This is not about politics.
it’s personal.
No, I’m not going to tell you what to think.
This is what I believe.
I also believe that I needed to state it in public.
We.
All.
Need.
God’s.
Help.

 

this is what I posted on FB on July 7, 2016 in response to the murder of Philandro Castile

Leave a Reply

