when URP is a good thing

This morning, as we trying to get out the door to go to work, Ginny URPED on Martin.  All over Martin actually.

She isn’t sick, it was just a gas bubble under a bunch of formula.  But they both had to get cleaned up and it made us an hour and a half late to work.  Insidious stuff.

HOWEVER

That was an incredibly normal, sane reason to be late to work. We welcomed it as an indicator that life was back to something resembling normal. In the last few days we have had some pretty untoward things happen as we try to get out the front door. Here they are in no particular order

  • On Thursday my brother had to be taken to the hospital
  • On Friday my brother had to be taken to the hospital
  • I got a call at work Friday saying that they were admitting my brother. They say he had a heart attack.
  • my 15 year-old niece had to be taken to the hospital for seizures.

I guess that’s not that many, but it was starting to seem like we hadn’t had a normal day in quite a while.  Maybe it was all in my head.  Whatever.  Today’s normality of a couple with a young baby having to clean up URP was a welcome change.

So here’s to Mondays.  May the only spilt milk today be the stuff on my hubby’s shirt.